General info 

Shenzhen (深圳) is a city in Guangdong Province and it  is a major financial center in southern China.  Shenzhen is located immediately north of Hong Kong Special Administrative Region.

Shenzhen was a market town on the route of the Kowloon–Canton Railway. That changed in 1978 when Shenzhen was promoted to city-status and in 1980 Deng Xiaoping designated it China’s first Special Economic Zone (SEZ).


In November 1979, Bao'an County (宝安县) was promoted to prefecture level, directly governed by Guangdong province.  It was renamed Shenzhen, and then it was singled out to be the first of the five Special Economic Zones (SEZ) in May 1980. In November 1988 it was given the right of provincial-level economic administration.

Administrative divisions

The sub-provincial city of Shenzhen in Guangdong, China is divided into 6 districts: Luohu (羅湖), Futian (福田), Nanshan (南山), Yantian (鹽田), Bao'an (寶安), and Longgang (龍崗). 

Luohu is the old financial and commercial center of the city. The size of Luohu district is about 78.89 km2. Futian is home to the government and Municipal Committee of Shenzhen, as well as the central business district of the city. The size of Futian district is about 78.04 km2. Nanshan District (182 km2 ) is the site chosen by the high-tech industries and it encompasses the southwest area of the Shenzhen. Yantian (75,68 km²) is the location of some of Shenzhen's best-known tourist beaches, Dameisha and Xiaomeisha. Yantian Port is also located within the district. Bao'an (712,92 km²) and Longgang (844,07 km²) are located respectively to the north-west and north-east of Shenzhen.

Geography and climate

The municipality covers an area of 2.050 km² including urban and rural areas, with a total population of 10,628,900 at the 2013 census.

Shenzhen is situated about a degree south of the Tropic of Cancer. The average temperature is around 22,4 °C.

Follow us on wechat

  • White Facebook Icon

Find us on Facebook